The castle of Konopiště was founded at the end of the 13th century, probably by the bishop Tobias of Benešov. It was built as a Gothic fortress copying the design of French castels.First building alterations were ordered by George of Šternberk at the end of the 15th century, and later by Hodějovští of Hodějov in the 17th century. In the 18th century, Vrtbové of Vrtba converted the castle into a Baroque palace. Francis Ferdinand d’Este, who bought it in 1887, had it rebuilt into a grand emperor’s residence.
The JAWA Factory Museum Konopiste presents representative samples from the history of the JAWA make of motorcycles, using machines on display as well as historical documents, and employing large screen audio-visual presentations in the Czech, English and German languages. Another significant theme of the museum is the documentation of the racing successes of Czech motorcycle makers during the 20th century, with unique exhibits, trophies and historical documents.
Tato obdélná dvoupatrová budova se dvěma rizality na západní fasádě, v parku se sochařskou výzdobou z 18. a 19. století dnes slouží jako restaurace a hotel přilehlého golfového hřiště.